Signing the Lease

I officially have an apartment! (Which most people probably already knew).

Let’s see.. I saw the first apartment on Saturday. LOVED it. Wanted to move in immediately but was told I had to wait to find out if I had it for sure until Monday. I had another two appointments set up for Saturday afternoon. One fell through and the second was postponed until Sunday morning. The second appointment on Sunday morning was in a completely different neighborhood – and luckily I had Casey with me as my “body guard” 🙂

The apartment itself was currently being renovated. It was a 6 bedroom, 2 bath, garden level (-1) apartment in Prospect Heights/Crown Heights. Due to construction, we had to get off a stop early from the subway so the walk there seemed to take forever (-1). Since they were trying to fill 4 bedrooms there were about 10 other people who showed up to look at the apartment as well. Basically it was like a giant match.com meet up. Kinda weird but also kind of cool. The apartment was really nice and new (see below), I just didn’t like the fact that it was on the ground level – preferred to at least be one up for safety. The other people seemed nice but I wasn’t sure about signing myself up for a situation with 5 other roommates. Pretty much reliving college, plus some.

20120827-135804.jpg

It was a decent apartment and if I absolutely needed somewhere to live, it would have been a reasonable option. Quite a bit cheaper than #1 but I’m moving to a city and more than willing to pay extra for piece of mind and a safe walk home.

Needless to say, I didn’t sign anything there on the spot. Decided to head out and told them I’d let them know by that night (all while hoping something worked out soon with apartment #1). After making it back to Casey’s apartment for a bit before it was time to go meet Jon at Penn Station! He had gone home for the weekend – pretty weird the turn of events of having me pick him up in a city I don’t even live yet 🙂 We made it back to his apartment and picked up some dinner to make and eat on the roof! I expect many more dinner rooftop dates in our future. I was super excited to see him after almost two months apart!

20120827-135850.jpg

Can’t even begin to get over how gorgeous the view from his roof is. Seriously awesome. And couldn’t have picked a better spot to be sitting when I got the phone call saying the apartment was MINE! Helllooooooo New York!

20120827-135836.jpg

20120827-135820.jpg

Met up with the landlord and the roommate the following afternoon (Monday) to put down a deposit & first month’s rent. We ended up talking for an hour and a half so I think it’s going to be a good living situation. I don’t have any pictures of the apartment itself so I’ll have to post those when I move in – in two days! More on the neighborhood and everything then too.

But first I have a whole lot of packing to do…

One thought on “Signing the Lease

  1. Pingback: Moving to Brooklyn | Life After Bricks

Leave a Reply

