Quick Monday

Started week two at Carrot today. Quite a productive day working on wireframes for a new app. Loving the energy in the office and actually getting to talk to people! It’s nice not working in cubicle land and being able to lean over and chat with someone for a bit or ask a quick question. Apparently I kept myself quite busy today because I looked up and it was 6:30! Crazy. Guess I can’t complain about a quick Monday. It was, however, freezing cold in the office (I’m beginning to think that I might be the problem because everyone else seems fine in shorts and a t-shirt. I was in pants, a sweatshirt and a blanket 🙂

Below is the view from the backside of the building (looking into Brooklyn). The office itself has a view of Manhattan.

I’m enjoying my 20 minute commute (sorry dad, I won’t brag too much). Especially nice when I get to see the sunset just as it gets to the one raised Subway stop!

I’ve gotten in the habit of reading on the subway (after the long commute to Astoria to see Jon). Really enjoy sticking my nose in a book because it makes the trips go faster! Plus it’s a non-awkward way to ride the train because apparently looking around is forbidden. I’m reading Anne of Green Gables (a 800+ page book is keeping me quite busy). I’m going to make it through all of the classics during my train rides – since they’re all free on itunes! And they’re all something I’ve wanted to read for a while so it seems like the perfect opportunity. I fortunately do not get motion sick reading on the trains like I do on buses!

After work I met up with Casey (roommate from RIT). We ended up going to a cafe just a few blocks away, having hot chocolate and chatting for hours 🙂 Definitely an awesome way to spend a Monday night and we both decided to make a habit out of it! I’m loving having so many familiar faces in the city – it makes for a slightly easier transition. I was way less exhausted after work today which was nice – makes the night feel a lot longer to actually go out and do something! I am, however, more than ready to fall asleep.

Leave a Reply

