Length of the Night

I’m slowly learning that the length of my day is dependent on how many things I pack it with. Really packed days end up feeling longer than nights where I come home and just relax.

Getting out at 6:30 or later every day takes a bit of getting used to. Being in the same room all day takes some getting used to as well ย – at RIT I was used to constantly switching classes, going to work and spending time at home. Over the summer, I was working in a number of different departments so I was constantly switching places and going to meetings. With this new job all 35 of us share one office which is basically one giant room. Don’t get me wrong, I love it. We’re able to easily talk to the people around us & it makes it feel more like a community rather than sectioned off cubes. I just have to remind myself to stand up every once in a while ๐Ÿ™‚

Tonight after work I went out to dinner with a friend of a friend who i had actually never met before! My friend Carolyn, who I knew from RIT and the admissions office, had emailed me a few weeks back to introduce me to her best friend who was living in NYC! We had emailed some before I moved here and agreed to meet up for dinner as soon as we could. She’s working in the west village so we went to a sushi place near union square. Definitely fun meeting new people in the city and testing out new restaurants! The place was called The Loop – really tasty, I’d go back there. We talked about meeting up more so yay friends!

Makes for a late night but I figure it’s more than worth a little less sleep in order to get out and do things. In Chicago, I felt like I was going places all of the time and knew the city really well after ten weeks there. I took a little more of a back seat approach during week one in NYC because all of the newness was overwhelming but I’m finally feeling (somewhat) settled in! Looking forward to getting out more and exploring.

Leave a Reply

