Christmas 2012

Now that we’ve sufficiently eaten our way through all of the Christmas cookies and I have made my way back to Brooklyn, I can begin to recount the past ten or so days.

Lots has happened – although most involves cooking & eating.

IMG_5775

Friday at work we celebrated two birthday’s in the office + our interns last day. Cue lots of sugar. I made Nutella Stuffed Brown Butter & Sea Salt Chocolate Chip Cookies. They were pretty much as delicious as they sound. Seriously, you can’t go wrong stuffing anything with Nutella.

IMG_5772

After work I headed off to Penn Station to wait around for a bit for my train! I had an hour or so to kill so I went to dinner at Moe’s. Let’s just say it was not a pretty sight to watch me attempt to eat their burrito. It looked like a bomb went off. But delicious nevertheless. Always a good way to start a vacation – eating a messy burrito in a back room in penn station full of strangers listening to a mixture of Elvis and Michael Jackson. Train eventually took off and I was on my way to Hershey! Only had one transfer in Philadelphia but that was quick and easy. The highlight of the trip was a girl sitting down next to me and saying “You don’t look too weird, I think i’ll sit next to you.” Always reassuring.

Saturday morning we got up early to drive to St. Thomas for Jon’s family Christmas. All of his extended family gets together for the day and it happened to work out perfectly – I managed to fit in 3 Christmas’s this year. Lots of delicious food and a great time hanging around – so much Hannah time! This is only the 4th time I’ve seen her since she was born last November, she’s getting so big!

IMG_5813

Jon drove me the rest of the way home to Maryland on Saturday night. Home just in time for Mom’s Choir Contata at church!

IMG_5786

The next few days included eating delicious home cooked meals, goofing around with Sarah, making the famous thin Christmas cookies, learning the names of football players (thanks to Sarah), and pretending to be Martha Stewart when Sarah and I worked on decorating the table for Christmas dinner.

IMG_5789 IMG_5790 IMG_5817

This is the first year that we weren’t together with Barb & Joe for Christmas Day. Sarah & I ended up making Christmas Eve dinner before we headed off to church for the candlelight service. We made Avocado Yogurt Dip, Spicy Feta Dip and Brussels Sprout Dip with Artichokes. Sensing a theme here?

IMG_5820 IMG_5825 IMG_5828 IMG_5837 IMG_5844 IMG_5845

 

Christmas morning we woke up, made Cinnamon Chip Apple Scones & Chili Cheese bake before sitting down to open presents – a record late time compared to some of our previous 6am starts.

IMG_5856 IMG_5857 IMG_5859 IMG_5866

Christmas dinner was chinese take out – it was crazy packed! Who knew we were missing out on it all these years. Finished out the night by watching Moonrise Kingdom and House Hunters.

IMG_5869 IMG_5885

To be continued…

 

One thought on “Christmas 2012

Leave a Reply

