Fried Okra

I’ve been on my random veggie eating kick lately. This inspired me to buy okra, a veggie I had heard a lot about but never tried or made it before. This second fact led said purchased okra to sit in my fridge for a week as I determined how to take action.

Eventually on Wednesday night I was inspired to give it a go. It might have perhaps been influenced by the fact that I hadn’t gone grocery shopping in almost 2 weeks and my options were becoming more limited. But my coworkers have been following some of my foodie adventures and one of them requested Instagram pictures of a “whatever you have in your fridge” meal.

Whatever the circumstances, I’m glad I finally tried it because wow! Who knew how delicious it could be.

One tablespoon of olive oil (let’s be honest, I don’t measure anything) heated up in a pan and then added the diced okra along with a few red pepper flakes, pepper & a sprinkle of cornmeal.

So good.

20130222-071843.jpg

Cooked up some red lentils and sautéed kale & bell peppers along with it.

I might have accidentally eaten all of the okra before I got a chance to get it in the bowl with the rest of the veggies. Oops!

20130222-071851.jpg

Not bad for a random Wednesday night meal!

One thought on “Fried Okra

  1. Beautiful and Yummy….love okra cooked in a pan with a bit of olive oil. Can also put in a couple of chopped up tomatoes (canned or fresh) along with the red pepper flakes, pepper – serve with rice (lentils) and kale or other greens.

Leave a Reply

