Saturday Duathlon

In a momentous, bucket list-worthy, moment on Friday night, I ordered pizza online and had it delivered to my apartment. First time ever. There’s always been some reason or another why this has not happened previously. I was not a take-out obsessed college student (Fun Fact: I never once consumed Ramen while in college), if I eat out I always, always walk to the place and end up eating there or just pick it up myself. Every night last week I either stayed late working on a project, met up with friends for dinner or went to an after work networking event. So it seemed like a necessary end of a long week Friday night thing to do. Pizza & a movie (The Exotic Marigold Hotel).

Jon has been out of town since Thursday at a photo conference so I had a full weekend of events that I only find exciting.

Saturday morning began bright and early. Actually, I woke up at 7:10 am and freaked out that I was late for work. I was not. It was Saturday.

Got out of bed anyway and poked around the apartment before heading to Prospect Park for a run. It was absolutely gorgeous outside so I unknowingly ran 2.5 miles. I have this 0-60 problem when it come to running. The last half mile or so, I was cheered on by a whole gang of people who were apparently there for some other race that was happening in the park. Surprise motivation is always nice.

Read the entire Saturday NYTimes (when Jon’s here we focus on Travel, the crossword & picking out houses in Real Estate) while drinking coffee and eating oatmeal. I’ve actually picked up two different freelance design projects so I spent a few hours working away at those. They’re super quick and for co-workers but nice to get my brain working in a different direction.

photo 1

photo 2

Hopped on a train to 50th Street in Manhattan to go to an Art Show on Piers 92 & 94! I heard about it on Twitter last week but there was this giant contemporary/modern art show called The Armory Show going on so I figured it was worth checking out. Ended up running into someone I knew, which is crazy considering the number of people there. Walked up and down every exhibit and when I had become exhausted from art I started walking south.

photo 4

photo 3

 

Originally I planned on grabbing a quick snack at a deli or something but those plans quickly changed. Walked from 55th Street to 47th where I checked out Amy’s Bread  for some Irish Soda Bread (not as good as Mom’s) and iced coffee. Cute and PACKED place. Apparently it’s insanely popular. Continued walking south in Hell’s Kitchen (it’s a neighborhood) and down into Chelsea. At this point, I figured I might as well keep wandering because I didn’t really have anything better to do & it was sunny!

photo 2-1

photo 3-1

Made it all the way down to 23rd Street and then walked 6 avenues over to Avenue of the Americas to visit the Flat Iron building for the first time ever! I guess I keep hanging out just a block away from it, not knowing it was so close. Plus I finally made it to Eataly. Amazing. I wanted to eat everything. Hung out in Madison Square Park for a bit until I heard from Jon and he wanted to meet up for dinner. Hello perfect excuse to book it back to Eataly.

photo 5

Picked up some tasty looking fig bread and then made my way to Trader Joe’s a few blocks away for some other supplies. Eataly, I’ll be back.

photo 1-2

Ended up making salad with pomegranates and honey almonds along with the fig bread & goat cheese for appetizers. Dinner was mashed/baked cauliflower with parsley and a baked portobello mushroom- thanks for the sweet dish, Aunt Barb. I can’t believe I didn’t get a picture of it in there! Guess I’m just going to have to make it again soon. Super tasty and everything seemed to work out pretty well!

photo 5-1

In total it was 2.5 miles of running and 8 miles of walking.

My legs are not so pleased with my decisions.

Leave a Reply

