Out of Hibernation

It’s officially spring! Spring apparently makes all New Yorkers come out of hibernation so it’s fun to go exploring now with full streets.

Thursday night was my first fire escape sitting of the season. Assuming there will be much more of that to come.

photo 2-3

A puppy visited the office on Friday. Some of my coworkers bring their dogs in occasionally which is adorable and makes me want to get a dog.

photo 3-3

We were also visited by the Easter bunny who brought loads of chocolate.

photo 5-4

 

Hung out with Jon last night – a walk to the East River, dinner in Union Square (at Chipotle of all places – haven’t been there since before I moved to NYC) and chatting at Think Coffee. He left super early this morning for North Carolina to visit family.

photo 1-2

 

This morning was an early start – 7 am! Had made plans to meet up with Casey for a little early morning yoga in DUMBO. We bought 5 classes on Groupon so we’ll be trying that for a bit. It’s actually in the same building that Carrot is in. After an hour an 15 of yoga we sufficiently felt like pretzels and decided it was brunch time. Walked up to Brooklyn Heights for a tasty breakfast wrap.

photo 2-1

photo 1-1

After brunch we parted ways (and ran into a friend on the street!) and I decided to keep walking instead of hopping on the subway because it was gorgeous out. Actually ended up walking all of the way home – through DUMBO, Brooklyn Heights, Cobble Hill, Boerum Hill and finally Park Slope. Long walk! So many gorgeous brownstone filled streets to look at. Stopped along the way at a grocery store to pick up some salad fixings for this week and bought some pretty flowers! I guess I was just in a spring mood and decided my apartment needed a colorful boost.

photo 3-1

photo 4-2

photo 1

After hanging around my apartment for a bit – with the windows open, birds chirping and sun shining in! – I headed off to Manhattan for some exploring. I had the last of my birthday gift certificate at Peanut Butter & Co to use up (expires tomorrow) so it sounded like a good excuse to head that way. Ended up getting off 3 stops early and walking a bit through NYU and SoHo before getting to Washington Square Park. Everyone was outside, the park was absolutely packed. So many performances going on outside (piano, guitar, folk group, gymnasts, chalk artists, etc). photo 2

photo 5-3

photo 3

photo 4

Walked around for a bit more and then headed back down to SoHo to my favorite spot – The Grey Dog for some coffee and crossword time (and to rest my legs). There were SO MANY people outside. It was a little insane. I forgot how busy Manhattan could be.

photo 5-1

Didn’t end up getting home until 6:45 at which point I realized it was laundry time and I had 12 minutes to run down the street and get it in before the 7:00pm deadline. By the time I finished all that and got back to my apartment I checked my steps app and was shocked to find out that I walked close to 10 miles! Yikes! It’s pretty easy to rack up the miles around here especially on toasty warm spring days.

Headed off to bed soon so I can get up early tomorrow morning and run before church! Running, coffee & the Easter service are the only things on my to-do list tomorrow. Perhaps so more exploring will happen as well.

Happy Easter!

 

Leave a Reply

