Finding a Place

Early Sunday morning I woke up, got some coffee ready and wandered out the door with a heaping basket of laundry in hand. As I threw it in the washing machine to head off on a run through Prospect Park I realized just how far life has come since I moved here 8 months ago. No longer am I dragging wet laundry down the street because I couldn’t make the 7pm cut off time. Now I just need to work on successfully entering my apartment while unlocking the door, holding the basket, squeezing through the door and dropping everything or looking like an idiot. One thing at a time…

I’m far from establishing anything that resembles routine around here but we’re getting there. Realizing just how comfortable I am on these streets in my neighborhood is a good feeling. It’s not the first or second time I’m wandering down them but somewhere in the hundreds and I’m still able to find interesting things to see.

How lucky that this is my backyard? A three minute walk out the door and I forget that I’m living in a city with 8 million other people.

Screen shot 2013-04-30 at 8.45.22 AM

 

So incredibly thankful for the way that things have fallen into place over the last year or so. It’s almost been a year since I graduated from RIT, weird right?

It’s starting to feel a little more like my very own city (that I happen to share with a lot of other people…) every time I leave and come back. No matter how many times I’ve reentered the city after a quick trip away, I’m always shocked by the energy in this place.

Screen shot 2013-04-30 at 10.18.41 PM

Two weekends ago I headed home with Jon to Hershey to attend his best friend’s wedding. It was super nice to get out and experience nature and quiet for a bit. Jon was actually pretty busy all weekend as he was the best man so I got some quality time hanging out with his parents. My only regret of the weekend? Not asking to see embarrassing photos of Jon growing up. Had so many opportunities with him out of the house and still missed out. Next time…

Screen shot 2013-04-30 at 10.19.13 PM

The tiny church was located just a mile or so away from Three Mile Island, the nuclear power plant, which was slightly unnerving. But the views were gorgeous and the church was right out of some movie (The Notebook?).

Screen shot 2013-04-30 at 10.19.04 PM Screen shot 2013-04-30 at 10.18.51 PM

Bride & Groom (+best man and matron of honor) rode away on a John Deere tractor. We’re not in NYC anymore!

Screen shot 2013-04-30 at 10.18.58 PM

Topped off the weekend with an absolutely gorgeous sunset over the Susquehanna River during the wedding reception. An early wake up on Monday morning (4:00am) meant that we were rolling into NYC just in time for me to make it to work on time. Jarring experience going from this sunset to busy Penn Station during morning rush hour but it was good to be back!

Screen shot 2013-04-30 at 10.18.46 PM

 

2 thoughts on “Finding a Place

  1. I can let you know the next time I’m home, and you can come on over without Jon. A weekend of Hannah and Jon’s embarrassing pics – sounds like a great weekend to me!

  2. I love it. Eight months. Time flies ! Tips for entering abode with a laundry basket. Approach door – set laundry basket on floor – un- lock door and open – pick up laundry basket – walk in . Close door with your foot…………..Brooklyn Park beautiful. You’re fortunate to have it so close by. Love the pictures – sunset over the Susquahanna is awesome. Like picture taken thru the window of the church. Small arrangement of flowers in the window overlooking the very old tombstones in the cemetary……Three mile island nearby. Thanks

Leave a Reply

