Side Projects

I’ve taken on some side projects that include turning my apartment into a jungle, growing my own herbs and eating enormous amounts of vegetables.

After getting an herb container garden last summer from Aunt Barb, I’ve started collecting plants. It got to the point where I was getting a new one almost every week. There’s probably some addicts meeting for this…

This past weekend as I was walking out of church there is a farmers market that comes around every Sunday so I stopped by to check it out. And came home with 3 new plants. I KNOW, I’m working on my problem.. Next week.

But then I needed soil to plant my new plants. Plus new pots. So I dragged Jon along. And then I ended up buying arugula seeds and he got some plants of his own. Between us, we’d have a jungle. Finally got all of my plants into their new homes and I’ve obsessively been checking my seeds for any signs of growth (there are none).

Screen shot 2013-04-30 at 10.17.34 PM Screen shot 2013-04-30 at 10.17.23 PM

New herb plants means fresh basil and parsley on my pasta for dinner. Yum!

Screen shot 2013-04-30 at 10.17.13 PM

And spring means an awesome selection of vegetables at the CSA I belong to through work. I’ve been bringing home huge quantities of veggies each Wednesday and coming up with all sorts of new ways to use them. Most recently I tried Swiss Chard wraps. The inside was couscous with caramelized onions, garlic, dried cranberries and feta. I wrapped each one up like a little burrito and then baked them. Super tasty and something I’d definitely try again. I’ll post more pictures of it once I get those from Jon. He approved and even asked to eat the leftovers the next day so I think it was a success!

Screen shot 2013-04-30 at 10.18.11 PM

 

Tomorrow is Wednesday which means I have a whole new selection of veggies coming my way. This week includes spinach, boston lettuce, red cabbage, carrots, tomatos and ramps! I have a recipe in mind for those so stay tuned!

One thought on “Side Projects

Leave a comment