Cooking Adventures: Stuffed Artichoke

Relaxing Saturday evening included kitchen reorganization and a whole lot of cooking. I had a lot of Farmigo vegetables leftover from last week and since I’m leaving on Wednesday morning, I figured this weekend was the best time to use them up. There’s also something to be said about a slow evening in the kitchen.

No particular recipes in mind but I wanted to tackle the artichoke and use up the rhubarb.

photo 1

Stuffed the artichoke with a mixture that included whole wheat bread crumbs, parmesan and pecorino romano cheese, salt/pepper, vegetable oil and parsley. Steamed it in a pot of water on the stove for almost an hour.

photo 2

While that was cooking I tackled the mushrooms – super easy. Drizzled them in olive oil, salt/pepper and fresh basil. Roasted some leftover lonely carrots as well. That all was basically an effort to clear out the fridge.

photo 1

photo 3

photo 5

The artichoke came out really well! Much better than I expected and super easy so I’ll definitely be eating it again soon. It was also super filling despite not having a lot inside so I only ended up eating half and the rest will be lunch tomorrow. Two of the mushrooms and leftover carrots are also going to be making their way into meals tomorrow and Monday! Yay planning.

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3

While all of that was cooking I whipped up a quick strawberry rhubarb crisp with fresh fruit also from Farmigo. It turned out really well! I made an apple crisp a while back and it seemed to turn out dry but even without following a recipe this time, I was impressed!

Enjoying dinner while watching Silver Linings Playbook from Netflix & working on some slides for the conference I’m going to next Wednesday. More on that later! A much needed relaxing day in Brooklyn – my first in weeks!

photo 5

Leave a Reply

