The Artichoke

Thursday after work 15 Carrots all headed to the Financial District for a 5k run for the American Heart Association. Unfortunately it was the hottest day in NYC so far this year – 92 degrees is NOT, in fact, fun running weather. When we arrived there the race was absolutely packed so it took a bit to get up to the front and get started (ie. sweating before you even started). Absolutely gorgeous race course right through the lower part of Manhattan – right under the World Trade Center, down to the tip of the island and then ended along the Hudson looking towards Jersey City (hi Eric & David!). It was a fun run despite the fact that I had to walk some of it – better luck next time. But I finished! We all went out for celebratory beers at a bar afterwards. Sounds like this is going to be a yearly Carrot event so I have another year to train for the next!

Screen Shot 2013-06-01 at 2.44.09 PM

photo 1

Friday came super early this week (or so it felt) due to having Monday off. Headed to Midtown after work to meet up with Jon. I was feel generally discombobulated and annoyed with the number of people around so I plopped down on a bench outside to wait. Soon after a lady walked up to me and pointed to her camera and then herself – indicating she wanted her photo taken. I figured she was a tourist so I quickly took a few shots of her. Instead of leaving she sat down on the bench next to me and began (in broken english) telling me that she was visiting NYC (clearly). I discovered it was her first time in the US and she was from China along with a tour group that was apparently doing a huge cross country tour of all of our major cities (LA, DC, NYC, Hawaii, etc.). She stayed around for about 10 minutes telling me about other countries she’d been to and telling me how much NYC was like Shanghai and that I should visit. The conversation involved a lot of me asking a question and her responding to something totally different but it worked out! Soon she spotted someone she knew across the street and darted off. Thanks for the small bit of community NYC 🙂

photo 2

Eventually met up with Jon and we headed down to 23rd street (Flatiron District) for cheap tacos and dinner in Madison Square Park (mom & dad, that’s the one with the cool rope art installation). Hung around that area for a while before heading to get a drink at this dive bar down the street – full NYC date night experience. Ended the night back in Madison Square Park looking at Shake Shack and the Empire State building in the background! Jon headed to Hershey this weekend to see his family so I’m on my own for the weekend!

photo 3

After saying goodbye to Jon I swung by Trader Joe’s because it was just down the street. Picked up some frozen fruit for smoothies & a impulse purchase – an artichoke! Turned out to be the best impulse ever because while I was waiting in line the lady behind me tapped me on the shoulder to ask how you cook artichokes. I confessed that I usually buy them in a jar so I really had no idea and that I was using it as an experiment. Soon enough the lady next to us in the other line chimed in with directions of how to prepare it and what to eat it with (along with detailed nutrition facts). The lady behind her also joined the conversation and before I knew it there were 6 of us standing around talking about the artichoke in my hand. Best purchase ever. One of the people noticed I had a RISD bag and said that since I was clearly a designer if cooking it didn’t work out I could always turn it into a nice center piece! By the time I got up to the register I was laughing and the cashier said “sounds like someone had a good Friday!”

It’s those little moments that make NYC great.

Screen Shot 2013-06-01 at 2.43.59 PM

Started Saturday morning off early with a yoga class in DUMBO with Casey. Walked up to Brooklyn Heights afterwards for breakfast at a place called Siggy’s – super delicious tofu scramble! Walked Casey to the train before parting ways and I continued walking to fit in a bit more exploring. There was a middle eastern grocery store I’ve been interested in trying out for a while so I walked to Atlantic Ave. It was seriously so cool! Filled with bulk food items, so much cheese, coffee and the best part was.. everything was so cheap! Even by not NYC standards. I got a bag of pita for 85 cents! Picked up some dried strawberries and two varieties of hummus (Kalamata Olive & Feta Cheese Hummus + Zaatar Hummus).

Stopped in a kitchen supply store just because it looked cool – ended up getting in a conversation with the store owner for a bit. Apparently the theme of the weekend is talking to strangers.

Walked further down Court Street to Cafe Pedlar a new coffee shop I’ve also been wanting to try out. Sat down for a bit to catch up on email and drink iced coffee – it’s HOT out today!

photo 4

Eventually ended up back at home all hot and sweaty (and no AC) so a shower and strategic fan positioning was in order. Spending the rest of the afternoon catching up on blogging, listening to music, reading the NYTimes and eating strawberries from Farmigo! Definitely a good Saturday so far!

photo 5

Leave a Reply

