Summer Eats

There has been a whole lot of cooking going on this summer both at work and home.

Forgot to share this next photo in the post about my trip to Maryland. On the last night Mom asked what I wanted for dinner. In my typical, “i can’t decide” fashion I started listing things I wanted: enchiladas, tacos, beans, guacamole, corn, etc. Turns out she whipped them all up. Vegetarian enchiladas with roasted corn, pico de gallo, guacamole and a mango slaw. So so tasty. Thanks mom 🙂 Being indecisive is pretty tasty. 

20130827-235220.jpg

 

I’ve been working on some secret summer projects at work – we have a new client which means lots and lots of pasta! My day to day work life lately has consisted of grocery shopping, cooking, and photographing the food. 

20130827-235250.jpg

 

Jon brought me surprise flowers one night when i got back from Maryland – guess I was gone for a while! I was outside in the park enjoying one of the many summer concerts they have (this one was Barenaked Ladies and Guster) and he showed up with flowers and gelato! They made for a good breakfast backdrop for a while. 

20130827-235312.jpg

 

This was a failed recipe. Jon and I made guacamole pesto stuffed mushrooms. The idea of them was delicious but the recipe called for entirely too much garlic. Yuck.

20130827-235347.jpg

 

Tried making wheatberries one night. They’re definitely a lot chewier than I expected but worked well to have on hand for multiple meals! Added tomatoes, chick peas, parsley, olive oil and parmesan to this one. 

20130827-235418.jpg

 

The UX intern for the summer’s mom brought in cupcake/cookie type things. So tasty.

20130827-235329.jpg

 

Jon and I attempted black bean burgers one afternoon. We got in the habit over the summer of cooking on Sunday afternoons. Very relaxing way to end the weekend. This go around was spicy black bean burgers with avocado on little tiny rolls. Cute and tasty!

20130827-235402.jpg

 

For one of the Carrot-versaries at work, I made brownies with raw cookie dough on top – don’t worry it was a recipe without the egg. I didn’t want to be responsible for a company of 50+ people getting food poisoning! They were time consuming but seemed to work out well!

20130828-001046.jpg

 

The theme of most nights at home was vegetables! Somehow this one week I ended up with SO MANY. Roasted some corn, made some kale salad and lots of the extra eggplant and peppers were made into ratatouille. 

20130828-000850.jpg

 

We occasionally have BBQ’s at work and are asked to bring something in. This summer BBQ included pulled pork (and a veggie option of chili on chips) along with a huge number of pasta salads, regular salads and desserts!

20130828-000913.jpg

 

Huge summer salad!

20130828-000936.jpg

 

Jon and I made brunch one morning – scrambled eggs, roasted potatoes and mimosas. The rest of the ingredients weren’t pictured because we have bad cooking timing and got hungry. 

20130828-000955.jpg

 

2 thoughts on “Summer Eats

  1. OVER-THE-TOP-WONDERFUL. Amazing I loved it all. My inspiration for things tried in the kitchen. Keep me current please. I love you, Hi to Jon , you go girl. Nana

Leave a Reply

