The Little Things & Aged Cheese

Judging from the state of disrepair that my room is in a mere 24 hours after last cleaning it, I’d say this week is going to be a busy one. Ever since college, my room cleanliness has been almost a direct correlation to my stress level. Not including, of course, finals week – cleaning after all was a means for procrastination.

Work has been a pretty steady flow of to do’s, tight deadlines and new projects. It feels good the second time around, though. Second year addressing similar tasks and feeling like I’ve done this before. I’m feeling comfortable without settling in too much. It’s definitely interesting the perspective shift I have in just a year’s time.

Last year around this time, I was just into my first full month of a big kid job in a new city with a new apartment. A year later I find myself walking home on autopilot – or almost, since I moved. Things that felt new and different (riding the subway to work, walking around the neighborhood, grocery shopping) suddenly have tucked their way into my schedule and I hardly notice a difference. Still, I try to walk a different set of streets each day on the way to and from the subway. You know, just to change it up a bit.

One of the biggest adjustments has been learning to enjoy some alone time. Seemingly such an easy concept but in a city this big with so many things going on, people to see and places to be, it’s hard to remember to slow down and that a packed schedule is not always the best kind. I spent much of last year thinking that if I was home by myself on any given night clearly it was a horrible thing. Of course, then comes the over compensation and sudden realization that 5-6 nights a week are packed with one plan or in the case of this Wednesday, three.

I’m learning to enjoy the little parts along the day, too. The extra gorgeous sunsets that NYC provides (thanks, pollution).

Screen Shot 2013-10-21 at 11.02.43 PM

Screen Shot 2013-10-21 at 11.03.40 PM

A quiet Saturday walk through the neighborhood.

Screen Shot 2013-10-21 at 11.02.31 PM

Time hanging out in the local coffee shop. This lettering session, fueled by pumpkin spiced lattes.

Screen Shot 2013-10-21 at 11.02.17 PM

My favorite time of the day, the morning! (Yes, Mom). I’ve been setting my alarm for a solid 2.5 hours before I need to leave to enjoy some reading, oatmeal and coffee.

Screen Shot 2013-10-21 at 11.02.07 PM

And perhaps my biggest lesson of the year…

Screen Shot 2013-10-21 at 11.02.01 PM

Leave a Reply

