Welcome Back to Rochester

A week or so after graduating, I began the whirlwind tour of trips home, moving out to Chicago, interviewing in NYC, moving to NYC and starting a job. Somehow it didn’t seem like that much time passed but holy cow 2 years later and I realized I hadn’t made a single trip back to Rochester.

I was lucky enough to be asked by work to represent the company and interview new potential designers! It was for Industry Day at RIT which is the exact place I met people at Carrot for the first time two years ago. Kind of crazy to be on the reverse side.

IMG_1085

The only minor hiccup in the trip was that the night before we left, it snowed 18 inches in Rochester. Yikes.

I had neglected to get any kind of real snow boot this year so I set out to DSW the night before in search of something… anything. Turns out all of NYC seemed to have a snow boot shortage this year but these worked just fine.

Soon enough, we were headed off (at 4:45am).

IMG_1091 IMG_1094

Left somewhat sunny and warm (ish) NYC for the frozen tundra that is Rochester.

IMG_1106

Upon landing my coworker and I grabbed our bags and walked out to the parking lot to get the rental car that we had for the weekend. As luck would have it, it was the only car in the entire (covered) parking garage that was absolutely covered and surrounded by snow. Go figure.

Welcome back to Rochester.

IMG_1111 IMG_1120

 

In typical Rochester fashion though, the snow didn’t seem to phase anyone. Within a few hours of our plane landing the roads were already starting to clear up + sidewalks were shoveled.

IMG_1124

After a lunch at Lovin’ Cup, we headed on campus to the Field House to set up everything. SO crazy and weird to be back.

Ours is the crazy looking table 🙂

IMG_1132

I won’t go into too many details but the day was long!! We spent 5 hours interviewing people. 4 of those we did without a single break to stand up. There were so many students! It felt weird but good to be on the reverse side of the table. Hopefully we provided helpful feedback for everyone involved. Helps to be just a few years out so I remember clearly what I wanted/needed to hear at that time.

After interviews we headed down the street to MacGregors for dinner and drinks. Almost everyone who we had interviewed that day was there and it was a good chance to catch up with friends I hadn’t seen in forever!

IMG_1136

Completely passed out that night and couldn’t even take advantage of this being my first ever hotel room to myself (big kid!!). I did thoroughly enjoy the king sized bed though. The place was 3 times the size of my apartment.

The next morning we woke up super early again and headed back on campus for MORE interviews. It was totally fun though – these were half hour long interviews so we actually got a chance to chat with everyone a bit more. And it was held in Java Wally’s, my absolute favorite coffee shop on campus.

IMG_1144

The new HUGE hockey rink int he distance! Can’t wait to go back sometime for a game.

IMG_1147 IMG_1153

Friday night after we wrapped up interviews we were officially done with work for the weekend so it was time to enjoy Rochester!! One of my roommates from college was nice enough to let me crash with her for the weekend so we got a chance to catch up on 2 whole years of life! Saturday was a mix of time spent on campus, meeting up with a friend for coffee at a fantastic coffee place downtown, a trip with Devan to the public market for a breakfast sandwich and a walk around.

IMG_1158

Apparently I didn’t take very many pictures though! Saturday night Devan and I met up with my friend Anna and her boyfriend for dinner at Lovin Cup (round 2). Sadly Sunday morning seemed to come super quick and it was time to head back.

IMG_1164

Not without a trip to Jay’s Diner for breakfast!

IMG_1172

And another quick stop by Wegmans and Dibella’s sandwiches to pick up one for the trip home (most genius plan ever).

IMG_1179 IMG_1206

Soon enough we were leaving the snowy views of Rochester and landing among the concrete mess of buildings. As much as it was great to be back and visit Rochester, I was happy to land back in NYC. Funny how each chapter of life can fit perfectly and then it’s time for another. Waiting 2 whole years to go back and visit definitely had a greater impact on making me realize just how far I’ve come since then. Similar to when I left for college and went back to visit high school, I guess.

IMG_1209 IMG_1232

Leave a Reply

